Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Russell County PreschoolThe Russell County Preschool Program is the state-mandated preschool program offered by Russell County Schools.  We provide our community with Certified Early Childhood Teachers with experienced Instructional Assistants.  The early learning environment is competently planned using the DIG curriculum which ensures intentional, instructional design featuring hands-on learning appropriate for all young children. 



Eligibility for Russell County School District

(Approved March 18, 2019 by the Board of Education)

Preschool is provided at each elementary school in the district:  Russell Springs Elementary, Salem Elementary, and Jamestown Elementary School.  Children attend preschool at the school where they will be entering Kindergarten, unless parents choose to transport their children.   

Transportation:  Russell County offers transportation for all preschoolers on buses with dedicated routes specifically for preschool children.  A driver and an aide are on each bus and the entire county is covered. 


Who can register? 

Any resident of Russell County with a 3 or 4 year old child can register their child to be screened.


Who is Eligible for Preschool?


  • Lives in Russell County; and
  • According to the Kentucky Administrative Regulations, are eligible who are 4 years old by August 1st; and
  • Who meet income guidelines which are at 160% of the poverty level.


OR if the child:


  • Lives in Russell County; and
  • Is a 3 or 4 year old child who has been identified and, according to an IEP, is in need of specially designed instruction.


Prior to school starting, 3 year olds will be screened for suspected delays as part of the Child Find obligation.  They will be accepted only if they are identified through screening and further assessments as a student with a disability under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act.  Three year olds without an identified disability will not be enrolled in preschool. 


Is Russell County different from other districts?

Yes, Russell County does accept students who are not automatically eligible, but who can benefit from services;  4 year olds who turn 4 after August 1st, but would otherwise qualify on income if they had met the August 1st birthdate deadline.  This allows children who are income eligible to attend one full year and part of the year when they turn 4.  They enter school on their 4th birthday. 


How will parents know if their child qualifies?

Once registration has closed, parents will be contacted to bring their child to be screened at an appointment time during the summer.  For those who automatically qualify on income, disability basis, or both will be notified of their accepted enrollment at the time they are called to schedule an appointment for screening. 


The Preschool Coordinator is responsible for determining when a classroom is considered full based on the grouping of the children in regards to their ages and number of students with disabilities. 




digital school network
cms login Intranet login RSS
Russell County Schools
404 S Main St.
Jamestown, KY 42629

Phone: 270.343.3191
Fax: 270.343.3072